Paleo and food choices

So I know all of you hard-core CrossFitters who have totally drank the Kool-Aid swear by the strict Paleo diet and all else is heresy.

Well I am here to burst your bubble and say that a strict Paleo diet is not for everyone and part of that group is me. My reason is this – cardio and lots of it, besides I do not believe there is one “diet” out there, that is the way it should be as each person has different needs and the latest diet you saw on TV is not the be all, end all. I enjoy CrossFit but I am not what you would consider a hardcore disciple. I enjoy many other activities such as road cycling/racing, mountain biking, running and so on. These endeavors require carbs and lots of them; this is where Paleo falters, note I said falters not fails, so just relax and hear me out.

Along these lines I have found this book, The Paleo Diet for Athletes. There is just no way to have the energy for a long, hard bike ride by eating strictly Paleo – been there, try that, BONKED. These two authors get it also and one is Dr. Loren Cordain, who originally put to paper the tenets of the Paleo diet. Find what works for you, stick with it and don’t do something blindly because someone told you to. The “everyone else is doing it” message fails to hold any water here.

A good site that I have found with quite a few recipes – most Paleo, is Paleomg.com,  check it out. As a matter of fact I will be eating some of this tonight.

Enjoy and make your decisions based on knowledge and experience.

Comments Off on Paleo and food choices

Filed under Fitness

Comments are closed.