Goal setting

I came to the realization a while ago that 2014 would be the right time for me to jump back into bike racing. I am beginning to get my fitness back and mentally I am becoming stronger. I have been doing a fair amount of reading on the mental side and am beginning to put some new habits and attitudes in place. It has taken me many years, too many, to grasp goal-setting when it comes to what you want to achieve. Of course you can say you will do something but unless you make a goal, write it down, stick to the plan, and oftentimes make sacrifices, well you will never get there.

Now I am working on my goals for the rest of this year and learning a lot. A pen and pad of paper are my friends.

Goal-setting
1) Decide what I want
2) Decide when I want it
3) List the pay-value – why do I want it?
4) Determine the obstacles in the way
5) What is my plan to get the goal?
6) Ask some important questions
7) Schedule my plan
8) Start now
9) Never reach a goal without first setting another one
10) NEVER, NEVER quit!

Comments Off on Goal setting

Filed under Motivational, Road Racing

Comments are closed.