Book review – The Secret Race

Coming into this book I realized that I had to take everything I read with a grain of salt as I have followed cycling for years and as they say – “Where there’s smokes there’s fire” rings true. Watching Armstrong and a few other select riders continue to dominate the top of the sport I quickly came to the realization that they were more than likely doping. As the years went on I was pretty convinced because due to human nature if there is money involved and a large ego to feed the competitor will do what it takes to win and that includes cheating, limited only by money available and his scruples.

It is only cheating if you are caught, right? Hamiltons book filled in the gaps of knowledge I did not have before and clarified the picture of what people will do to win at all costs. Needless to say Hamiltons book drew me in and provided an in-depth look at what goes on behind the scenes in athletic competition and specifically when one man bullies his fellow athletes and the system itself.

As it has been said before, “Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely.”

Comments Off on Book review – The Secret Race

Filed under Bikes

Comments are closed.