Epilogue: The Koppenburg

UPDATE: I finished 29th.

Well it is done. I have finished the Koppenburg circuit for the first time and I am glad that I have done it. I just wish the side aches would stop. I felt pretty strong as Leo and I rode a practice lap. Two miles of dirt and a little over three of asphalt. Needless to say there are a number of road bikers that need to take up mountain biking as not even a mile into the race and a couple of hundred yards on a nice dirt road there was a twenty rider pileup or so.  I guess as someone hit my rear wheel and I slide to the right and took a look back to see what was going on and saw quite a few riders in the dust cloud. I hung with the main group for most of the first lap and was dropped coming around for the second. I ended up riding with a small group of guys off and on for the rest of the race. Needless to say my conditioning needs some work, as Lars said, he had that problem last year and it was his conditioning, makes sense to me. I also think that the asthma is kicking in a bit which is one of the numerous subjects I intend to ask the doc about next week. All in all my second race this year went OK, I just need to get faster so I can suck off the draft of the group! 😉

Comments Off on Epilogue: The Koppenburg

Filed under Road Racing

Comments are closed.